Detoxing with A Fast/Cleanse

Have you ever felt like you were trapped in a much older person’s body? That’s how I have felt for about 6 months now. Yes, I have been working out and getting ‘energized’ but I have continually felt like it was all way too hard, or at least a lot harder than it used to be.

To give you a bit of background information: I am a certified personal trainer who worked at a gym that just ran its PT operation counter to my training. The gym’s view was the customer needs to be in and out, nothing more than some weight training exercises and goodbye – so I got very discouraged and quit.

I was so ticked off with the gym that I, subconsciously at first, started avoiding working out at all. Then, after several months of inactivity, I couldn’t take the lethargy anymore and started working out at home to DVDs – hence the name of this blog. Well, that went well for several months but then I just started to feel sluggish most of the day, like I was much older than my 39 years. Some days my body just didn’t want to move much and I felt like I had a lead ball in my stomach!

detox tea

Now this lead ball in my belly meant that I felt like I had eaten a lot more food than I had, my whole midsection felt really hard most of the time, like it was under pressure. I started thinking that the food I was eating was causing me some issues.

I went to the library and found a detox book called “The Seasonal Detox Book” by Carrie L’Esperance and I was very interested in its content. I have been eating seasonally, as best I can, for about 6 months but still my nutritional needs seemed to be out of whack. In the book read a lot about fasting, mainly of the juice variety, and I remembered a weekend about 20 years ago when I had done that and felt like utter crap. I did not want to repeat that weekend so I glossed over those kinds of options. But one actually contained solid food and was dubbed a good beginners fast/cleanse for the spring. Although not yet spring, I figured I would give it a go.

So today, as I write, I am on the fast/cleanse. It started at 8am and up until 12pm all I could do was eat fruit. On the list were about three fruits I could eat easily: apples, oranges and grapefruit. Lemons and limes are not fruit I can eat without something to balance them out, so I didn’t even buy those.

For a few months now I have been weaning myself off caffeine and I was down to about two cups of caffeinated beverage a day – tea is my choice for caffeine. I am not going to be ingesting anymore caffeine so I am not looking forward to the headache I am going to get tomorrow!

For the rest of the day, until 8pm, I can only eat steamed, baked, roasted or raw veggies from this list: asparagus, beets, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, dandelion leaves, garlic, leafy greens, olive oil, parsley, parsnips, potatoes with skins, sprouts; and drink pure water and herbal teas.

I am going with the potatoes and carrots. I have to say it will be weird not eating any bread or flour based products for a few days, but I think I’ll survive. Actually my biggest dread is the hunger, but I haven’t felt hungry so far, so I am pleased.

I’ll keep you posted on how this goes. I am not doing this for weight loss, as I know that the weight lost will be water and I will put it back on. I am doing this to sort out my gut, or at least improve it. I know my body can run better, so now is the time to see just how much what I eat affects my body.

2 Responses

  1. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

  2. [...] Day 3 – Cleansing Energy Rocks! Posted on March 4, 2009 by Fran Today is day three of my detox cleanse and I have to say I feel really, really good.  Yesterday I felt like crap so I am glad that was [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

