Third Try: Jari Love’s Ripped to the Core

5lb weights, step, mat, fan

Day 5

After a day off on Sunday I was ready to get back to working out and Jari Love’s Ripped to the Core was just the ticket.

This is the third time I have done this workout and I noticed how I did nearly all the reps – even though some of them felt like my arms/inner thighs were on fire. To be honest I started off great but then had to modify things, like changing overhead presses to bicep curls, as my arms were just burning.

This time I attempted to do the plank properly [not on my knees] and I lasted about 30 seconds before my form went. Oh how far I have fallen – I used to be able to hold it for a few minutes! As for trying the insanely advanced other plank options I think it will be a long time off in the future before I can try those. There is actually a part where Jari is showing Ben doing modifications and he is using light weights, and there is a notice onscreen beside him stating that using hand weights is not recommended, go figure.

All in all I felt like I did more than before, that I pushed myself further, so I am happy.

Today’s stats:

2/11/08

1:03:27 [workout time]
32:33 [in aerobic zone 60% -80% Target Heart Rate]
133 bpm [average heart rate]
171 bpm [highest heart rate]
425 [cals burned]

Leave a comment